The best vegan candy can be found here

Vegan candy, what can we eat? 

Vegans also want to eat candy now and then. We provide some great vegan candies which are 100% free of animal products and yet more than enough to whet one’s appetite.

It’s a known fact that many candies actually contain animal products, including gelatin, milk, and even carmine which is derived from bugs! Unfortunately, these are also some of the most popular candies and you may be wondering what’s really in your favorite sweets.

Well, we’ve got you covered in this article, where we’ll talk about some of the best candies for vegans. First, however, let’s have a look at what to watch out for in our candy labels.

  • Gelatin: Made by boiling the skin, tendons and ligaments and bones of cows and pigs.
  • Carmine: A red dye made from crushing female cochineal bugs.
  • Bone Char and Sugar: Bones from cattle that are used in processing sugar to make it look white. Unless specifically stated to be vegan, keep in mind that any ingredient simply labelled as “sugar” may well contain bone char.
  • Shellac or Confectioner’s Glaze: Made from a resin excreted by the female lac bug to make candy look glossy. About 100,000 bugs have to die to make around 1 pound of shellac.

Any candy that contains one of these is definitely a no-no. Fortunately, there are still plenty of other vegan candies that don’t directly contain any animal products.

Remember that while candy may be labelled as vegan, many of them are only 99.9% vegan – it can be difficult to keep trace amounts of animal products completely out of our food.

Despite that, it doesn’t mean we should stop supporting the food companies that are doing their part to eliminate animal suffering. We believe that we’ll actually be helping animals more than hurting them by taking 99.9% vegan candy, instead of being picky about it and potentially sending the message to those companies that their efforts were in vain.

If you’d like to satisfy your sweet tooth while remaining guilt-free, be sure to check your candy labels for gelatin, carmine, bone char or shellac. While these ingredients are sadly still in use by many confectionery companies, vegans will be delighted to find out that animal products are not required to make a good vegan candy!

For starters, most dark chocolate is vegan – but still be sure to check your favorite brands just in case. Companies such as Nerds, Airheads and Smarties have managed to keep animal products out of their candies, and still deliver more than satisfactory products.

There are also some “accidentally vegan” candies, which were not intentionally created for vegan consumers, but ended up being so anyway. Some good examples of accidentally vegan sweets are Charms Sweet Pops, Chick-O-Sticks, Hubba Bubba Gum and Jolly Rancher Lollipops.

Lastly, keep in mind that ingredients can change over time, so always stay updated and check your candy labels if you’re ever in doubt. If you’re traveling, it’s also helpful to know that ingredients may vary by region, so it’s best to check out any local guides on the places you’re visiting for known vegan candies.

Vegan Candies and Chocolates

Airheads

Annie’s Organic Fruit Snacks

Atkins Peanut Butter Bar

Big League Chew

Blow Pops

Bottlecaps

Brach’s Cinnamon Hard Candy

Brach’s Hi-C Fruit Slices

Brach’s Hi-C Orange Slices

Brach’s Root Beer Barrels

Brach’s Star Brites

Charm’s Blow Pops

Chew-et’s Peanut Chews

Chick-O-Stick

Chocolove Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Cherries and Almonds Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Crystallized Ginger Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Orange Peel Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Raspberry Dark Chocolate Bar

Cry Babies

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Dem Bones

Dots

Dum Dums

Fireballs

Fruit By the Foot

Fruit Roll Ups

Fun Dip

Gobstoppers

Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews

Hubba Bubba Bubblegum

Jolly Ranchers Lollipops and Hard Candies

Jujubees

Jujyfruits

Laffy Taffy

Lance Peanut Bar

Lemonheads

Mamba Fruit Chews

Mary Janes (Regular and Peanut Butter Kisses)

Nerds

Now and Later

Panda Licorice

Pez

Pixy Stix

Red Vines

Ring Pops

Skittles

Smarties

Sour Patch Kids

Starburst Minis

Super Bubble

Swedish Fish

Sweet & Sara Marshmallows

Sweet Tarts

Twizzlers

Zotz

Leave a Reply

Close Menu